top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Krueger

The Benefits of a Learning Network

Updated: Sep 27, 2023

Being part of various learning networks and communities has had a profound impact on my growth as an educator, enriching both my professional knowledge and teaching capabilities.

  1. ADL Learning Network: During the summer ADL class we formed a group that has been particularly influential in my learning journey. This learning community provides me with a supportive environment for exchanging ideas and discussing assignments, and challenges we are facing. It's not just a source of information but a supportive sounding board as well.

  2. TCEA, Apple Education, ISTE: These larger educational associations keep me updated on the latest trends and innovations in my field. Attending conferences and workshops organized by these associations gives me exposure to cutting-edge tools and strategies.

  3. FSTAT (Family and Consumer Sciences Teachers Association): This learning network is a place where Career and Technical Education teachers can go for resources, information, and curriculum. They have an annual Conference in Texas each summer.

  4. TeacherCast, Twitter, and Facebook Forums (I follow various ones in my content area): These social media forums provide me with quick access to a wide range of perspectives and resources. I am able to build a personal learning network (PLN) where I can share insights, ask questions, and create professional relationships.

Education is an evolving field, and staying up-to-date is crucial for effective teaching. Being involved in learning networks ensures you are always aware of the latest developments. You are also able to build connections with fellow educators through these networks. You never know when a contact you've made might provide valuable insights or support. By answering questions and sharing resources, you not only give back to your peers but also reinforce your own understanding.

ADL Learning Network My Applied Digital Learning group is a group of students who are working on the same path and degree. We work together in a collaborative group, where we ask each other questions, share ideas, and give feedback to direct our own learning.


Texas Computer Education Association This is a technology association that provides online courses, in-person and virtual conferences, summer camps, on-site workshops, webinars, and certifications. I try to attend the yearly conference to gain more insight into new and innovative technologies.


Apple Education Community This learning network provides quick tutorials and a collaborative space where you can connect with peers and experts for advice, shared stories, and more. I would like to get my Apple Distinguished Educator certification.


ISTE ISTE's goal is to improve technology use in schools worldwide by using best practices associated with learning and technology to create high-impact, sustainable, scalable, and equitable learning experiences for all learners.

FSTAT This network allows me to connect with fellow Family and Consumer Sciences educators, sharing resources and teaching methods for CTE courses.

TeacherCast This network offers podcasts that provide weekly Instructional Technology tutorials covering topics many topics used in educational technology. There is a podcast on ITCs that I like to listen to. Adobe Education Exchange This is a learning platform created by educators for educators, offering access to professional development, teaching materials, and other tools associated with the use of Adobe products.


Twitter - X This is a social media platform that allows me to follow fellow educators and organizations to gather insights, ask questions and create professional relationships.


Facebook Forums These social media forums provide me with quick access to a wide range of perspectives and resources. I am able to build a personal learning network (PLN) where I can share insights, ask questions, and create professional relationships.

Photo: "Zoom" Chris Montgomery by public domain image - Unsplash.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page