top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Krueger

Creating Collaborative Connections

Updated: Jun 28, 2023

“Many ideas grow better when transplanted into another mind than the one that they sprung up.” ~Oliver Wendell Holmes

When my professor mentioned that we would need to form collaborative groups for a class I am taking this summer, I was excited to be able to connect with my fellow peers. To be able to collaborate, network, and get feedback from educators who are on the same path has been and will continue to be so beneficial! When I first started this program a few weeks ago, I was extremely overwhelmed and I felt very defeated. My first thought was, grad school is not the place for me! Read my first blog on how my journey began just a few weeks prior. Since then I have become more confident through weekly Zoom meetings with my class as well as with my collaborative group.


As Harapunik (2016) states in his article The Key to Improving Student Achievement, "Hattie argues examining, thinking and talking with other teachers about the learning environments that we have created and are creating and the impact that we can have on learners is the most important thing we can do to improve our learners achievement." (Para. 4) Being encouraged to create a collaborative group has been very beneficial to my learning. I started meeting with a small group of peers a week into this course where we are able to bounce ideas off of each other, give feedback, and more! All the pieces of the puzzle have started to find their place and I feel more confident in my choice to further my education.


I have found that when you study with a group, each member brings their own unique experience and perspective to the table. This allows for a broader understanding of the subject matter. Group members can share resources, notes, and experiences to help others gain a more well-rounded understanding. In my collaborative group, there are high school teachers, elementary teachers, diagnosticians, and instructional coaches. Each one of these roles brings a new and different perspective to each discussion that we have. We also have one thing in common, we are all educators who are pursuing the same digital learning program.



The video discusses how you can collaborate as an educator with your grade level or department. Collaborating with peers is a great way to gain more knowledge and other perspectives. It is a great way to gain resources, talk through concepts and engage in discussions to help with planning and understanding. Through active participation, I have been able to gain new insights and identify any misunderstandings that I may have. As a group, we can break down complex ideas and make them easier to comprehend. Knowing that others are relying on you can increase your commitment and accountability to get assignments done. I am so thankful to have my collaborative group to work through our literature review resources. We are able to take notes and share ideas that we have found that may help our peers in their own research.


Having a collaborative group can give you the emotional support that you need to make it through a stressful project or class. You can share concerns, frustrations, and insights with others that are going through the same experiences. During our first meeting, it was very reassuring that all of us were feeling the same way. It helped me to know that what I was feeling was normal and this helped my anxiety about the workload.


Collaborating with fellow peers can foster lasting connections and future references.

I have been lucky to have found an encouraging and inspiring group of ladies to collaborate with. Even though we haven't been working together long, I know that these ladies will be a vital part of my learning environment and will be beneficial to helping me make it through this wonderful program of Applied Digital Learning. How can you use collaborative groups in your school or classroom?


Click the link to view my fabulous collaborative connections!

You can read more about them in their ePortfolios.

If you have been thinking about going back to Graduate School or are interested in learning more about the Graduate programs Lamar University has to offer, Click here!



References

“Best Study Group Ever.” Chegg.Com, https://www.chegg.com/play/life- hacks/productivity/study-groups-are-awesome-sometimes/.


How Teachers Collaborate Online and in School. (2011, October 20). YouTube. Retrieved June 20, 2023, from https://youtu.be/U0tMDxhLRaA


Harapnuik, D. (2016, June 27). The key to improving student achievement.

https://www.harapnuik.org. Retrieved June 22, 2023, from

https://www.harapnuik.org/?p=6434


Holmes, Oliver W. (n.d.) “Many ideas grow better when transplanted into another mind than the one that they sprung up.” https://www.teamwork.com/blog/25-quotes-inspire- collaboration/

36 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page