top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Krueger

Just Keep Swimming: Learning is Forever!

Something that I have always tried to instill in my daughter as well as in my students is that you should never stop wanting to learn. We all have the potential to do anything we choose. But if we're not challenging ourselves to do things we have not done before, we're not growing. And part of that is learning how to reach our potential. Learning new things will help you develop new skills and acquire the knowledge you need to excel in your expertise. If you don't learn new things, you won't be able to keep up with the pace of life. Every day we change as a society, we need to stay on top of what is new and innovative. We have to be open-minded to change.


Taking this Disruptive Innovation course has not only changed my perspective on learning, it has also changed my desire to learn. Our last assignment was a Literature Review of our innovative proposal. At the beginning of this course when I came across this assignment, I immediately became anxious about the thought of writing a paper again. I had not written a research paper in many years. I graduated from college 23 years ago and hadn't had to write since!


I took it in stride, looked at examples of other lit reviews, and collaborated with my collaboration group. I started to feel more confident in being able to write again. Although I am glad it is in the past, I am more at ease at the thought of writing again. I believe it has reignited my desire to research and grow more as an educator.


So the lesson is...don't be afraid to open the door to new possibilities. Keep learning, keep growing and as Dory says, "just keep swimming"!


Resources:

Photo: "A blue and yellow fish in a coral reef" by public domain image - Unsplash

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page